Members of the Panel

Adrian-Wright_hori Adrian C. Wright

Adrian Wright has been in private practice of law in the Northwest Territories since 1984. He has an active law practice in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.



Sheldon Toner

Sheldon has been a member of the Panel since November 2012, and was appointed Chair in March 2016, and is currently the Chair.  As a member of the panel, he has mediated human rights disputes, conducted pre-hearing conferences, adjudicated human rights issues and written decisions. He is also a partner in Dragon Toner Law Office and an instructor with the Foundation of Administrative Justice (FOAJ).  He has practiced in a variety of areas focusing mainly on administrative and employment law, and he advised and represented boards and tribunals in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Colin Baile

Colin was appointed to the Adjudication panel in 2014 Colin’s has over twenty-five years of experience with administrative tribunals in the Northwest Territories. He has held positions in a number of areas most recently as Chairperson of both the Northwest Territories Workers’ Compensation Appeals Tribunal and the Northwest Territories Liquor Licensing Board. He has also held appointments as Deputy Chair, NWT Human Rights Commission, Rental Officer, Fair Practices, Deputy Clerk of the NWT Supreme Court, and Deputy Registrar of the NWT Court of Appeal.

Colin received the designation of Chartered Arbitrator in January 1997. This was the first such title awarded to a resident of the Northwest Territories.

Council_wb-88 (1)Kerry Penney

Kerry Penney- was called to the Ontario Bar and the Northwest Territories Bar in 2002.  Kerry spent the first five years of her career in Yellowknife, NT as an associate with a large multi-jurisdictional law firm practicing in the areas of estates, corporate commercial securities, real estate, and litigation.  Kerry transitioned to a position as legal counsel to municipal government in 2007.

Kerry is currently a member of the Law Society of the NWT’s Discipline Committee and serves on the Board of Directors for the Yellowknife Polar Bear Swim Club.